Hotline2 405 505
About ministry

About ministry

Ministry of Justice is an executive branch of the Georgian Government, which is responsible for development and improvement of national legislation in accordance with international standards, promotion of democratic values ​​and strengthening the rule of law, and serving the public interest.

The Main Activity Areas

Ministry of Justice, on the one hand, provides legislative activities, and on the other, ensures harmonization of legislation with international legal standards. In this regard, Ministry of Justice is working closely with the Parliament, the Office of the Georgian Government (the Chancellery), relevant ministries, other state and local agencies, as well as foreign and international organizations.

Policy Development and Implementation

The Ministry of Justice conducts legal expertise and participates in the development of national policies in targeted areas.

Representative Function

The Ministry of Justice represents the interests of the state in national courts, as well as in international and foreign arbitrationstribunals and courts.

Effective Inter-Agency Coordination

Inter-agency coordination ensures effective participatory and consultative processes, and represents an effective mechanism for developing and implementing a harmonized unified government policy.

Citizen Services

The Ministry of Justice provides efficient and affordable service deilvery to the customers. For this purpose, the concept of the Public Service Hall and the Community Center has been developed, which, in terms of facilitating customer service and access to information, combines the activities of several agencies in one space.


The main goal of the LEPL Digital Governance Agency under the Ministry of Justice of Georgia is to develop e-government. At the same time, the agency is committed to ensuring implementation of an information security policy; introducing advanced information and communication technologies in the activities of the government and promote the proper functioning of the state by their means.

Ministers of Justice of Independent Georgia

Rati Bregadze April 1, 2021 - till now.

Gocha Lordkipanidze 2020 - 2021.

Tea Tsulukiani 2012-2020.

Zurab Adeishvili 2003-2004; 2008 - 2012

Nika Gvaramia 2008

Eka Tkeshelashvili 2007-2008

Gia Kavtaradze 2005-2007

Giorgi Papuashvili 2004-2005

Roland Giligashvili 2001-2003

Mikheil Saakashvili 2000-2001

Lado Chanturia 1998-1999

Tedo Ninidze 1993 - 1998

Constantine Kemularia 1992-1993; 2004-2005

Johnny Khetsuriani 1990-1992 - 1999-2000.

Evgeni Gegechkori 1921

Rajden Arsenidze 1919-1921.

Shalva Aleksi-Meskhishvili 1918-1919.